Sue Struengmann Initiative (SSI) Scholarships for Doctoral Study (Public Mental Health)

The purpose of the Sue Struengmann Initiative is to address the mental health implications of childhood and adolescent adversity and trauma by providing a base for research, capacity building and policy development. This initiative seeks to ensure the provision of high-quality interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental health problems among this vulnerable group. The Initiative is housed in the Alan J. Flisher Centre for Public Mental Health (CPMH), Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, University of Cape Town.


The scholarships funded by the Sue Struengmann family have been established to provide support for two PhD students to join the team in the CPMH. Research topics will focus specifically on:


  1. The development and adaptation of interventions to support the mental wellbeing of university students.
  2. The development and adaptation of an intervention to treat post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) among adolescents 15-18 years of age.


The successful incumbent will be required to:

  • Register for full-time PhD study at the CPMH in the Department of Psychiatry & Mental

    Health at the University of Cape Town from January 2024.

  • Comply with the University’s approved policies, procedures and practises for the

    postgraduate sector.

  • Enter into a bi-lateral Memorandum of Understanding with his/her supervisor.

  • Live in Cape Town for the duration of the fellowship.

  • Dedicate a minimum 10% of time to clinical activities.

Successful candidates will not be permitted to be on salaried employment concurrently.

Value & Tenure of Fellowship

The value of the Scholarship is R300 000 per year. This excludes tuition fees and research costs. Although the tenure of the scholarships is for 3 years, evidence of satisfactory academic progress will be required for continued registration.

Academic Criteria

Applicants require a prior Master’s degree in a foundational discipline relevant to public mental health, must be registered as a healthcare practitioner (psychologist, occupational therapist, social worker, medical doctor) and able to practice in South Africa.

Interested applicants should complete the application form and contact Ms Gillian Hanslo at should they have any questions.

Deadline for Applications: 15 October 2023

The University of Cape Town reserves the right: To disqualify ineligible, incomplete and/or inappropriate applications, to change the conditions of award, and/ or to make no awards at all. We encourage applications from previously disadvantaged groups.